About the scholarships
Cape Breton University (CBU) in Sydney, Nova Scotia, awards its entrance scholarships on academic merit to students entering a full-time undergraduate programme — Canadian and international alike. The awards are partial: they reduce tuition, they do not cover it. The ladder is led by the Chancellor’s Scholarship ($30,000 over four years, $7,500 a year), followed by the President’s ($20,000) and Fitzgerald ($20,000) scholarships, then the Schwartz ($14,000), W.M. Reid ($11,500) and Deans’ ($10,000) awards, with other entrance awards running $500–$5,000 a year. Against CBU international tuition of about CAD 23,794 a year, even the Chancellor’s covers roughly a third of tuition — so treat these as meaningful help, not a full ride.
The official CBU page is the authority here, and it is careful about what it does and does not say. It states the awards, the March 1st deadline for accepted students, and the eligibility rules — but it does not name the year, and it does not state a percentage cut-off. The “1 March 2027” date and the “80% minimum average” you will see on aggregator pages are secondary claims: the date is consistent and corroborated, the 80% figure is not on the official page at all. This article uses the official page wherever the two disagree.
Eligibility
- Be a Canadian or international student entering a full-time undergraduate programme at CBU.
- Have a high academic average, with no failures in Grade 11/12 courses.
- Your average is based on Grade 11 courses and completed Grade 12 courses; CBU determines the average for international students entering directly from high school.
- If you hold an ESL conditional offer, you must attend a CBU English language partner school for the award to stand.
- Articulation/transfer students are also eligible.
- Note: the widely quoted 80% minimum average is aggregator-only — it is not stated on CBU’s own page and is not presented here as an official cut-off.
Benefits
- Chancellor’s Scholarship: $30,000 over four years ($7,500 a year).
- President’s Scholarship: $20,000 over four years ($5,000 a year).
- Fitzgerald Scholarship: $20,000 over four years ($5,000 a year).
- Schwartz Scholarship: $14,000 over four years ($3,500 a year).
- W.M. Reid Scholarship: $11,500.
- Deans’ Scholarship: $10,000 over four years ($2,500 a year).
- Other entrance awards: $500–$5,000 a year.
- Bursaries are available separately for students with demonstrated financial need (Entrance Bursary Form, January–March).
Documents to prepare
- Your official transcript — submitted with the admission application (scholarship-specific, per the official page).
- For bursary applicants only: the Entrance Bursary Form plus income-tax documentation.
- A personal statement, CV, passport copy and English-proficiency proof are admission documents per aggregators — they are not confirmed as separate scholarship requirements.
How to apply
- Apply for admission to a full-time undergraduate programme through a CBU Future Student account (online).
- Submit your official transcript with the admission application.
- Once accepted, apply for entrance scholarships until 1 March.
- For bursaries, additionally complete the Entrance Bursary Form (available January, closes March) with income-tax documentation.
- Questions: contact the awards office at awards@cbu.ca (listed on the official page).
FAQs
1 March 2027 for the September 2027 intake. The official CBU page states “Accepted students can apply for Entrance Scholarships until March 1st” without naming the year; 1 March 2027 is the date given by Collegedunia and Sagblog.
No — they are partial entrance awards. The largest, the Chancellor’s Scholarship, is $30,000 over four years, against international tuition of about CAD 23,794 a year. The “(Funded)” label in the queue title overstates this.
$30,000 in total over four years ($7,500 a year). The President’s and Fitzgerald scholarships are $20,000 each over four years; Schwartz is $14,000; W.M. Reid is $11,500; Deans’ is $10,000.
The 80% figure appears in several aggregators but is not stated on CBU’s own page, so it is not presented here as an official cut-off. The official requirement is a high academic average with no failures in Grade 11/12 courses.
Yes — Canadian and international students entering a full-time undergraduate programme are eligible. CBU determines the average for international students entering directly from high school.
Collegedunia states direct-entry applicants are automatically ranked with no separate form, but that is an aggregator-only claim. The official page says the transcript must be submitted in addition to an admission application, and accepted students can apply for entrance scholarships until 1 March.
Yes — bursary applicants complete the Entrance Bursary Form (available January, closes March) with income-tax documentation, in addition to the admission application.
Verified 27 Oct 2026: cbu.ca/future-students/scholarships-bursaries/ (official CBU page) — entrance scholarships for Canadian and international students entering a full-time undergraduate programme; major awards (CAD, total over 4 years) Chancellor's $30,000, President's $20,000, Fitzgerald $20,000, Schwartz $14,000, W.M. Reid $11,500, Deans' $10,000, plus other entrance awards $500-$5,000/year; "Accepted students can apply for Entrance Scholarships until March 1st" (year not stated on the page); high academic average, no failures in Grade 11/12 courses, average based on Grade 11 courses and completed Grade 12 courses, CBU determines the average for international students entering directly from high school; ESL conditional-offer students must attend a CBU English language partner school; official transcript submitted with the admission application; Entrance Bursary Form available January, closes March, with income-tax documentation; contact awards@cbu.ca. Collegedunia and Sagblog (checked against the official page 17 Oct 2026) give 1 March 2027 for the September 2027 intake. CBU international tuition averages ~CAD 23,794/year (aggregators). CONFLICTS: Bright Scholarship and several clones say "No deadline / No Fixed Deadline" — wrong; the official March 1st date wins. The widely quoted 80% minimum average appears in aggregators (ehsaskafaalat, grabscholarships, myexamportal) but is not on the official page — not published as an official cut-off. The Orpha Thayer-Scott Scholarship ($10,000) appears in some aggregator tables but not in the major-awards table on the official page — not listed as a major award. Collegedunia's "automatically ranked, no separate form" is aggregator-only. The queue title's "(Funded)" overstates partial awards.




