About the programme
Scout Adventures runs five activity centres across the UK, and its residential volunteers are part of the team that delivers adventures to thousands of young people each year. As a volunteer you work around 35 hours a week on average — quieter in winter, busier in summer, spread across five days including evenings and weekends — with up to 18 days off during the placement. The role is that of an outdoor activity instructor in training: you learn the skills, then you teach them, logging hundreds of hours of hands-on instructing time by the end of the year.
Two routes sit under the same umbrella, and applicants often confuse them. The UK Volunteer Trainee Instructor Programme is for people based in the UK, aged 18 or over at the start of the placement, and is the route described on Scout Adventures' own programme page. A separate Residential Volunteer programme is open to UK and international applicants; international volunteers have historically needed a visa route such as the Charity Worker route and have received a higher weekly allowance (reported at £45 a week against £35 for the UK trainee route). If you are applying from outside the UK, confirm the current visa and allowance position with Scout Adventures before you apply — the official trainee page describes the UK-based route.
Benefits
- Living: live on site with residential volunteers from the UK and around the world, with all meals and your uniform covered.
- Allowance: a weekly allowance of £35 on the UK Volunteer Trainee programme, plus reimbursement of direct costs. (The £45 figure reported for the international Residential Volunteer route is not stated on the official trainee page and is flagged as reported, not confirmed.)
- Training: a full induction covering instructing skills, first aid, safeguarding and customer service, then a range of outdoor qualifications — including ERCA High Ropes, Target Sports, Water Sports, Mountain Training, First Aid and Health and Safety courses.
- Experience: hundreds of hours instructing youth groups, plus experience of centre operations, and a CV built around real instructing qualifications rather than classroom certificates alone.
- Community: a volunteering family of over 100 volunteers across the centres, and the chance to be part of the 2026/2027 season's story.
Who can apply
- Age: 18 or older at the start of the placement.
- Base: the UK Volunteer Trainee Instructor Programme welcomes applications from anyone based in the UK. It is advantageous but not essential to be a Scout or Guide member or part of a youth organisation.
- Attitude and fitness: high energy, a positive can-do attitude, and willingness to work outdoors in all weather conditions, including evenings and weekends.
- English: a good standard of English, since you will be instructing and safeguarding young people.
- Qualifications: no specific formal qualifications or previous experience are required — training is provided from the start.
Documents required
- Online application form with personal details and your motivation for joining.
- A letter of recommendation from a school, university or employer.
- A short video (around two minutes) introducing yourself and why you want to volunteer.
- A recent photograph.
- If you are a current Scout or Guide, membership confirmation from your National Scout or Guide organisation.
How to apply
- Read the official programme page and choose your placement window: September 2026 to September 2027 or January 2027 to November 2027. Applications are open now for both.
- Prepare your recommendation letter and record your two-minute introduction video.
- Submit the online application form with all attachments. There is no application fee.
- Eligible applicants may be contacted for an online interview. If selected, you will be invited to initial training and supported with planning your arrival and your residential volunteering experience.
FAQs
It is a residential volunteering programme rather than a cash scholarship: accommodation and meals are covered, uniform is provided, and trainees receive a weekly allowance (£35 on the UK trainee programme) plus reimbursement of direct costs. Travel to the UK and visa costs for international applicants are not stated as covered.
There is no single published deadline — applications are open now on a rolling basis for the September 2026–September 2027 and January 2027–November 2027 placements. Apply early, since centres fill their volunteer teams ahead of each season.
No. No specific formal qualifications or prior experience are required, and being a Scout or Guide member is advantageous but not essential. Training and qualifications are provided during the placement.
Around 35 hours a week on average on the UK trainee programme, spread across five days including evenings and weekends, with quieter winter weeks and busier summer weeks, and up to 18 days off during the placement.
A Residential Volunteer route for UK and international applicants is widely reported, but the official programme page checked for this article describes the UK-based trainee programme. International applicants should confirm the current visa route and allowance with Scout Adventures before applying.
No — there is no application fee.
Verified 29 Oct 2026 against Scout Adventures' own programme page (scoutadventures.org.uk, UK Volunteer Trainee Instructor Programme: applications open now for September 2026–September 2027 and January 2027–November 2027; 35 hours/week average across 5 days; up to 18 days off; UK-based, 18+; induction in instructing, first aid, safeguarding and customer service; ERCA High Ropes, Target Sports, Water Sports, Mountain Training, First Aid and Health and Safety courses; on-site living with meals and uniform covered; £35/week allowance plus direct-cost reimbursement) plus Opportunities Radar (11–12 months, 5 days/week, no fee; £45 foreign nationals / £35 UK nationals; food, accommodation and uniform) and Scholarship Union (18+, recommendation letter, ~2-minute video, no formal qualifications needed; residential volunteer and UK trainee routes). CONFLICTS: (1) Aggregators describe a single "fully funded" programme with a £45/£35 split, while the official page describes the UK trainee route at £35 — the article states £35 as the confirmed figure and flags £45 as reported for the international route, not confirmed on the official page. (2) Some aggregator pages print a 30 November 2025 deadline for the 2026 cycle — that date belongs to an earlier intake; the official page currently shows applications open for the 2026/27 and 2027 windows, and the article follows the official page. (3) Visa sponsorship for international volunteers is described by third-party guides (Charity Worker route, applicant-paid visa and health-surcharge costs) and is not confirmed on the official trainee page, so the article tells international applicants to confirm it directly.




